======= ======= ====== ====== ====== ===== ==== ====== ====== ===== ==== ======= ======= ====== ====== ====== ===== ==== ====== ====== ===== ====
Garden State motorists: get used to seeing this phrase on your traffic tickets – D.W.C.: ‘Driving While Caffeinated.’
A bill under consideration by the New Jersey Legislature is calling to prohibit “any activity unrelated to the actual operation of a motor vehicle in a manner that interferes with the safe operation of the vehicle on a public road or highway.” Now, while it’s reasonable for things such as preventing idiots from putting on makeup while driving, or eating bowls of cereal…
…it ALSO means no more McMuffins behind the wheel, and, of course, no more coffee.
How much will it cost you if a copper catches you chomping on a croissant in the car? Somewhere between $200 and $400 for the first offense, $400 to $600 for the second and $600 to $800 for the third, as well as a 90-day license suspension and points on the license, according to USA Today.
“The issue is that we need to try, in every way, to discourage distracted driving, it’s dangerous,” said Assemblyman John Wisniewski, a Democrat in Central Jersey, who sponsored the bill.
So, let me get this straight: Sipping coffee behind the wheel is a huge problem that can cost you your license. Shutting down the busiest bridge in the world? NO PROBLEM.
Where do we draw the line? Changing the radio station? Talking to the person in the car next to you? Peeing in a bottle and chucking it out the window? Okay, that one might already be illegal.
I get that they’re trying to save us from this…
…but I’d venture to guess that taking away peoples’ coffee, leading to a state full of tired, bleary-eyed drivers might make things even worse.
No wonder the state’s song was almost a song about people trying to get out of New Jersey..
[via USA Today]
Image via Shutterstock